Defense Attorney in Grand Junction, CO
Legal Representation for Misdemanor Charges
It is known that misdemeanors charges are considered less serious than a felony, however, that does not mean they should be taken lightly. If found guilty or convicted of a misdemeanor office, it could create obstacles for you for the rest of your life.
Types of Misdemeanors in Colorado
There are several types of misdemeanors, in the state of Colorado, they are commonly broken down into Class 1, 2, and 3 misdemeanors.
Class 1 Misdemeanor
Class 1 misdemeanors are the most serious in the state of Colorado. If convicted of a class 1 misdemeanor, you could serve 6-18 months of jail, a fine between $500-$5,000, or sometimes both. Depending on the extremity of the charge and if the person has no prior convictions, punishment may result in probation or community service.
Class 2 Misdemeanor
Class 2 misdemeanors are in the middle ground for the most serious misdemeanor offense and the least severe. If convicted of a class 2 misdemeanor, you could spend anywhere from 3-12 months in jail with fines of $250 – $1000.
Class 3 Misdemeanor
Class 3 misdemeanors are the least serious in all the categories of misdemeanors. If found guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor, there is a minimum penalty of no jail time and a $50 fine. If the offense is a more serious charge within class 3, there is a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
In special cases, such as an individual who has committed multiple class 3 misdemeanors, jail time and fines could be increased.
Common Types of Misdemeanors
There are several types of misdemeanors, some of the most common are:
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- Drug Possession
- Possession of Firearms
- Reckless Driving